Tracking… Does it Really Help?

diet journal

 

So I’ve been in an on again off again relationship with tracking my food intake. I have a myfitnesspal account and when I do use it I log everything for days. Then I slip, or I can’t find something that was served at a birthday party and I get frustrated, so I stop using it. Once I stop using it even for that day I never seem to pick it back up. I usually end up waiting a week or more before I pick up my phone, hit the app, and finally start tracking again.

The problem? During that tracking hiatus I also don’t watch anything. I eat what looks good. It’s almost as if my brain switches to if I don’t know how many calories are in this it must not have ANY! This is not a good thing if you are on a journey to lose 150 lbs.

I need to find a way to keep myself tracking every day no matter what. It definitely works for me. I’m held responsible for everything, and I can’t overlook anything including my coffee, which I can drink black but rarely do… In order for me to be successful I have to be responsible for everything I eat. And I love that with myfitnesspal can also keep track of the workouts that I do so I track those and I can’t get out of doing them everyday.

I benefit from tracking, does tracking work for you? Comment and voice your opinions on whether or not you track and why it works/doesn’t work for you!

Leave a comment