My First Update

Hi everyone,

It’s been a little over a week since I started eating better again, and working out. I’m happy to report that as of this morning I’m down seven pounds! The Fitbit has been an amazing tool keeping me on track with everything. I had a bit of a slow start, and I went over calories a few days but since then I’ve been doing so much better. I still have the occasional craving for fast food or restaurants. I don’t deprive myself of what I want, but I track everything and take responsibility for all of it. I’ve cut way down on drinking anything but water, except for my coffee, and every once in a while some tea. Neither or which are bad. I even had Starbucks last weekend and I made it a point to order my peppermint mocha “skinny” with no whip. That was a huge step for me.

6ad702f009f68948f64673462cc0e143003

In fact, I’ve been having trouble getting enough calories in my day compared to calories burned. I’m definitely eating, and even incorporated snacks into the mix. The only time I come close to being in the green is if I get junk food, which is fine every so often, but I don’t want it a good portion of the time since I started with the healthier eating. I find myself looking for healthier options when I’m out as well. This afternoon, Kyle wanted to go to Applebees for lunch, we stopped there before hitting the grocery store. We decided on the 2 for $20 deal, and he ordered my favorite dish, the fiesta lime chicken. I thought long and hard about it, and I almost ordered it myself, but I really didn’t want my lunch to be over 1310 calories. I opted for one of their new lighter items, it was a cedar grilled chicken meal served with apple relish and rice with quinoa, cranberries, and candied pecans. It was delicious! And came in at 560 calories for the whole meal. I even had some of the spinach and artichoke dip, just a few to get the taste but didn’t stuff myself before my meal got there.

I’m feeling much better about myself, and I’ve even hit all of my goals through the Fitbit website for the past three days now. I’m excited to keep going and see where I fall next week.

How do you keep track of your diet and fitness goals each day? Sound off below, I would love to hear from you. 🙂

7 thoughts on “My First Update

  1. I eat the same 3 or 4 meals during the week and switch it up on the weekends if I want to have some fun. This way I don’t have to worry about the content of each individual meal. Just, do I want the chicken or beef meal or eat a salad. It sounds boring at first, but you would be surprised how much you really don’t need variety when you find a meal you really like.

    • That’s a great idea Steven. I have a few meals that I could eat everyday given the chance. I’m sure that makes it easier to figure out what’s for dinner. I’ve often found if I can’t think of something, I wait too long and end up in the line at a fast food place. Having my favorite meals on hand would all but eliminate that problem. Thanks so much for sharing!

      • Anytime! Generally I make recipes with 3 ingredients. 1 bag of frozen veggies from whole foods chicken/beef and some kind of fat like butter/coconut oil or coconut milk. If I workout I eat rice at my meal. Otherwise, I stay low carb. I actually just put up a post today about this coconut chicken curry dish I go back to several times a week.

      • Coconut chicken curry sounds wonderful! I will definitely take a look at that. I could really use some simple recipes, so many “healthy” recipes call for so many ingredients that you wonder how healthy it really is for you.

  2. I track using weight watchers or before that myfitnesspal. I also have a food journal just so I can see it all. I’m hoping to up my exercise, my body is so used to walking in my day job that I have to really go out my way for exercise so.i brought a dvd with 7 minute workouts on. Quick and easy.

    Good luck with your weight loss x

    • Thank you missrmb! Tracking is crucial for me, I have to hold myself accountable. Otherwise out of sight, out of mind. 7 minute workouts are great for a busy schedule.

      Good luck with your weight loss as well!

Leave a Reply

